Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

Top Five Universities in Milwaukee

There are several universities in the metro Milwaukee area for prospective students to choose from, the two most dominant of them being the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee located on the east side of the city and Marquette University downtown. Apart from the two largest universities in the area, there are also a number of smaller universities including Cardinal Stritch University, which is found just north of Milwaukee’s city limits, Concordia University Wisconsin, which is located in Mequon, and Carroll University in Waukesha.

Below is a little information about each of these five universities.

University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Address: 2200 E Kenwood Boulevard, Milwaukee, WI 53211
Phone: (414) 229-1122 or Dial 0 (on campus)

The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (aka UW-Milwaukee or simply UWM for short) is a public institution comprised of 14 schools and colleges. With over 30,000 students taught by over 1600 faculty members, it is the largest university in metro Milwaukee (second largest in Wisconsin) and houses the state’s largest School of Architecture, College of Health Sciences, and College of Nursing.

The main campus of the university is located on Milwaukee’s east side, just five blocks away from Lake Michigan. It currently sits on 104 acres of land, but UWM’s acreage is constantly growing as the university expands its reach and adds additional spaces and buildings to its grounds.

UWM currently has 180 degree programs, including 500 classes that are available for students to complete online. Of these programs, there are a total of 94 bachelor’s and 53 master’s-granting degree programs. The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee is also one of only two public universities in the state offering doctoral degrees, with a total of 33 doctorate programs available at the university.

The fourteen colleges and schools in the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee are:

College of Engineering & Applied Science
College of Health Sciences
College of Letters & Science
College of Nursing
Graduate School
School of Architecture and Urban Planning
Sheldon B. Lubar School of Business
School of Continuing Education
School of Education
School of Freshwater Sciences
School of Information Studies
Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health
Helen Bader School of Social Welfare
Peck School of the Arts

Marquette University
Address: 1250 W Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, WI 53233
Phone: (800) 222-6544 or (414) 288-7250

Marquette University is a private Catholic and Jesuit university with around 12,000 students and over 1100 faculty members. It is the largest private university in the state of Wisconsin and since 1909 when its first female students were admitted, has had the distinction of being the world’s first coeducational Catholic university.

The main campus sits on 93 acres of urban land near downtown Milwaukee on what used to be the Wisconsin State Fairgrounds. Though the land is located in an urban area, there is still plenty of green space on campus. Also, Lake Michigan is quite close by at just a little over a mile east of the campus.

The programs offered at Marquette University include both undergraduate and postgraduate programs, with 50 of the postgraduate programs leading to doctoral and master’s degrees. The undergraduate programs include a choice of 77 majors, 65 minors, and pre-professional programs in the areas of dentistry, medicine, and law.

The twelve colleges and schools that are a part of Marquette University are:

Klingler College of Arts and Sciences
College of Business Administration
Diederich College of Communication
College of Education
College of Engineering
College of Health Sciences
College of Nursing
College of Professional Studies
Graduate School
Graduate School of Management
Law School
School of Dentistry

Cardinal Stritch University
Address: 6801 N Yates Road, Milwaukee, WI 53217
Phone: (800) 347-8822 or (414) 410-4000

Cardinal Stritch University, which is located in suburban Milwaukee, is North America’s largest Franciscan institution and since 1998, has been one of the few Franciscan universities granting doctoral degrees. It is a private Roman Catholic university with over 6000 students and several hundred full and part-time faculty members.

The university’s main campus is located just north of Milwaukee’s city limits in the suburbs of Fox Point and Glendale. Beyond the main campus, Cardinal Stritch University also has locations in Milwaukee’s city center, plus locations in Brookfield, Pleasant Prairie, and Madison, Wisconsin.

Degrees offered at Cardinal Stritch University include two associate’s, four bachelor’s, five master’s, and two doctoral degrees. These various degrees fall into the fields of the arts, science, music, education, philosophy, and business administration. In total, there are more than 60 fields of study offered in the university’s four colleges.

The four colleges at Cardinal Stritch University include:

College of Arts and Sciences
College of Business and Management
College of Education and Leadership
Ruth S. Coleman College of Nursing

Concordia University Wisconsin
Address: 12800 N Lake Shore Drive, Mequon, WI 53097-2418
Phone: (888) 628-9472 or (262) 243-5700

Concordia University Wisconsin is a private institution operated by The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod which is focused on developing the minds, bodies, and spirits of its students. Though the university is affiliated with the Concordia University System, it remains completely independent. There are over 7000 full and part-time students at the university and over 300 instructional faculty members.

The university is located just 15 miles north of downtown Milwaukee along 200 acres of Lake Michigan’s shores in Mequon, Wisconsin. Beyond the main campus, Concordia University Wisconsin also operates from ten additional locations including two that are situated right in the city of Milwaukee itself.

There are 78 undergraduate programs offered at Concordia University Wisconsin and an additional 17 graduate programs. There are also three doctoral degree programs – Nursing Practice, Physical Therapy, and Pharmacy – with the university’s School of Pharmacy being one of only two such schools in all of Wisconsin.

The five schools of Concordia University Wisconsin are:

School of Adult and Continuing Education
School of Arts and Sciences
School of Business and Legal Studies
School of Education
School of Human Services

Carroll University
Address: 100 N East Avenue, Waukesha, WI 53186
Phone: (262) 547-1211

Being the state’s oldest institution of higher education offering four-year programs of study, Carroll University is sometimes called Wisconsin’s pioneer college. It is a private university with affiliations to the Presbyterian church and first opened its doors back in 1846 – two years prior to Wisconsin becoming a state. It has over 3000 students and nearly 100 full-time faculty members.

Over the years, Carroll University has kept its rich history by maintaining several buildings on campus that are reflective of the area’s past. Sneeden House, which is now used as a conference center and guesthouse, is an original colonial home built in 1922. MacAllister Hall, which now holds the English, History, Modern Languages, and Religious Studies departments, is a renovated 19th century mansion.

The university offers undergraduate programs in over 60 areas of study, as well as selected programs leading to master’s degrees and certificates. Carroll University also offers a clinical doctorate program, in the field of physical therapy.

The two colleges which make up Carroll University include:

College of Humanities and Social Sciences
College of Natural Sciences, Health Sciences and Business

No comments:

Post a Comment